“Ranganidas” One Month Fitness Challenge

by Callum B. Downes

“This is Sparta!”

As of Monday morning, I have begun my one-month Spartan Warrior challenge. Over the next four weeks, my bodily transformation will be documented and diet & exercise tips will be posted.

The Challenge

To look like Leonidas by the 3rd of May, just in time for my mate’s 21st costume party, where I will be going as the famed Spartan king.

IMG_08161401389-29026

Apologies for the lame selfie :/

The Method

For the next four weeks I intend to adhere to a strict diet & exercise regime I have personally developed. The diet will basically involve high protein, vitamin & mineral intake, combined with some low GI carbohydrates, unsaturated fats and an attempt to cut sugar out completely.

My exercise regime will be based on high intensity interval training, combined with high weight/low rep strength training and targeted abdominal training.

In conjunction with these regimes I intend to get at least 8 hours of sleep each night, drink plenty of water and refrain from drinking alcohol.

Oh, and I can’t forget the beard. Growth will also be thoroughly documented.

